The hidden ingredients

by Green Gourmet February 03, 2017

The hidden ingredients

Being vegan and respecting life means taking that extra care to check your ingredients and contents labels to sort out all the animal products.

Here's a list of common animal ingredients to look out for when purchasing food for your vegan friends:

* Gelatin (anything that requires setting, even toothpaste) - from pig fat

* Casein (in desserts, jelly powders) - a milk protein

* Rennet (often in cheese) - from animal bones.

* Bone Char (used in processing of sugar) - animal bones, fortunately not in Australia

* Albumin  - from eggs

* Whey - from dairy

Here at Green Gourmet we use only vegan ingredients in our kitchen and have read all the fineprint of our purchased ingredients.

Be assured that all our desserts including our famous Golden Playtime cake contains no gelatin and no animal products!




Green Gourmet
Green Gourmet

Author



Also in Green Gourmet's Vegan Blog

Dining In Welcome at Newtown from June 1st
Dining In Welcome at Newtown from June 1st

by Green Gourmet May 28, 2020

Welcoming all our customers to come dine with us at Newtown; with a few little reminders to help keep everyone safe and happy.

Continue Reading →

What if I don't own a steamer? - Don't worry we have you covered.
What if I don't own a steamer? - Don't worry we have you covered.

by Green Gourmet April 21, 2020

Continue Reading →

Continuing through these Special Times
Continuing through these Special Times

by Green Gourmet March 30, 2020

Continue Reading →